Thursday, March 31, 2011

31 March

In the hockey game of life, getting smashed against the boards occasionally is inevitable. Stand up, shake it off, and chase the puck.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

30 March

Being vigilante against dangers takes so much energy! Reduce the pressure on yourself by keeping a highly-trained worrier on your roster of friends. He stays alert, you stay safe and well rested.

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

29 March

When the dust on the furniture has a measurable depth, action must be taken. Gather the supplies, crank up some tunes and get to work!

Monday, March 28, 2011

28 March

Just because you are smart doesn’t mean everyone else isn’t. Talk less, listen more, and learn from others.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

27 March

The difference between a real vacation and a few days off is how you feel when it’s over.

Saturday, March 26, 2011

26 March

Being lulled to sleep by the rhythm of the wheels is a distinct road-trip pleasure. But not when you are the driver. Stay alert out there!

Friday, March 25, 2011

25 March

25 March – Resist the urge to “Reply to All” when responding to just one person will do. Your colleagues and friends will thank you for the reduction to their burgeoning e-mail boxes.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

24 March

In the appetizer menu of life, try the sampler platter. You will likely discover something new and delicious.

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

23 March

The ability to wait patiently is a rare skill these days. Cultivate it in yourself and your children and reap the rewards forever.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

22 March

Some days deserve immediate insertion into the memory shredder. Discard, destroy - and decide that the next day will be better.

Monday, March 21, 2011

21 March

The difference between being erudite, or just an obnoxious know-it-all, is judged by the listener's reaction. Go for the appreciative nod of understanding, not the eye roll of disgust.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

20 March

Taking a little one on his first escalator ride? It is so fun! Just make sure his shoes are tied, otherwise the memories will not be pleasant.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

19 March

Been feeling sorry for yourself? Break up the pity party by doing a good deed for someone else. Helping others will improve your outlook.

Friday, March 18, 2011

18 March

We are surrounded by simple pleasures: the first day of spring, baby's new tooth, a completely clean house. Life is short. Use any excuse to celebrate!

Thursday, March 17, 2011

17 March

Drinking coffee requires sitting for full enjoyment. It tastes even better when a friend sits with you. In the kitchen, on the porch or at the corner cafe', hug a mug today.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

16 March

If you hear yourself say, "I would do that, but it will take five years and I'll be too old then" have someone slap you. How old will you be in five years if you DON'T do it?

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

15 March

The difference between buying from a "cashier" or a "customer service representative" is just a couple of decimal places. Be nice to both.

Monday, March 14, 2011

14 March

The blissful solitude of reading can still be a group activity if everyone in the household has a good book in hand. Make family reading time a regular part of your week.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

13 March

Tempted to give someone the finger? Add another, make it a peace sign, and surprise both of you.

Saturday, March 12, 2011

12 March

If you can't afford, or are unwilling, to tip the server or bartender at a sit-down restaurant, do not go out to eat. Budget for the 15-20% tip, and tip generously whenever possible.

Friday, March 11, 2011

11 March

If you have to change the locks at your residence once a year, you either need a new system to keep track of your keys, or a new circle of friends.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

10 March

Nothing kills the afterglow of a good party like a sink full of dirty dishes. Offer to help the hosts clean up, no matter how late the hour. Even if they decline, the offer will get you invited back!

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

9 March

Feeling overwhelmed? Stop (...be still...). Take a deep breath (...inhale slowly...). Then push all the air out your nose to make snot bubbles. And stress is relieved!

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

8 March

In the bowling alley of life, don't be afraid to ask for the bumpers to be raised. At some point, we all need help staying on track.

Monday, March 7, 2011

7 March

If you spend five nights a week lying on the couch like a wounded octopus, don't be surprised that you have no energy. There are places to go, people to see and things to do. Turn off the TV and get moving!

Sunday, March 6, 2011

6 March

Comfy, old, well-worn sweatshirts are treasures - no matter what your spouse says. Hide them if you must.

Saturday, March 5, 2011

5 March

When people love you despite your failings, be thankful for what they do not say.

Friday, March 4, 2011

4 March

Beware: Leaving the checkout line to "grab one more thing" not only annoys the people behind you, it gives them time to put things in your cart.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

3 March

As the senior person in a meeting, do not feel compelled to comment on every topic. Some ideas are just fine as presented. Resist the urge to "add value."

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

2 March

As you pass by the phone bank of life, be the one who checks them all for change.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

1 March

Those who end most sentences with "You know what I'm sayin'?" expect only the affirmative. Request clarification at your own risk. It could take awhile.